Belize excluded from France’s revised 2012 ‘Black List’

French Finance Minister François Baroin and Budget Minister Valérie Pécresse have updated the revised ‘black list’ of countries considered to be ‘uncooperative’ in tax matters (les Etats et territories non coopératifs – ETNC). This year, French government’s black list was considerably reduced – eleven jurisdictions, including Belize jurisdiction, were removed from it.

France’s 2012 list was confirmed in a government decree dated April 4 and published in the country’s official journal dated April 12. It has retroactive effect from January 1, 2012. The list contains the following eight jurisdictions: Brunei, Guatemala, Marshall Islands, Montserrat, Nauru, Niue, the Philippines and Botswana.

France adopted its own ‘black list’ of countries deemed to be uncooperative in tax matters in February 2010. The list of the countries is established in accordance with specific criteria, and includes the names of the states failing to provide both fiscal transparency and administrative cooperation with France. France’s black list is revised and updated annually.

Comments are closed.