Archive for May, 2008

Regular sittings of House of Representatives start

Monday, May 12th, 2008

On April 25, 2008, the new House of Representatives met in Belmopan in its 1st regular sittings.

In the beginning of the meeting, each Minister explained the plans of his ministry plans for the next months and years.

Some speeches were very detailed. For instance, the Minister of Works indicated which roads are to be paved, said where specific work is planned to be done and explained how it will be accomplished.

The longest speech was presented by the Prime Minister Dean Barrow. He started with talking on the rise in the cost of living and mentioned that there has been a 100% increase on food prices in the past few years. According to Honorable Dean Barrow, the jurisdiction is self-sufficient in various basic grains and can rely on many of the basic commodities. The relief for producers is expected from the lowering of import duties on materials needed in production, he said. Farmers were promised to have better access to credit, and the first tranche to come will be around $40 million to be raised in the next few weeks. The Prime Minister also said that an export market will be further developed.

88th Annual General Meeting of Chamber of Commerce

Wednesday, May 7th, 2008

On April 24, 2008, the Belize Chamber of Commerce and Industry held its 88th annual general meeting.

According to Kevin Herrera, General Manager of the Chamber, the meeting was a success. He said that its purpose was to accomplish 2 major things. The first was the presentation of the 2007 financial statement of the Belize Chamber if Commerce and Industry, while the second one – to hold elections for officers who will serve from 2008 to 2010. The meeting was a success as both tasks were accomplished.

A guest speaker – Honorable Dean Barrow – was invited for the occasion. He spoke on Belize’s economic recovery and outlined the points needed to accomplish that.

Mrs. Amparo Masson was elected to serve as President and to be supported by 3 Vice Presidents (Israel Marin, Cecil Arnold and Kay Menzies), a Treasurer (Rene Blanco), a Secretary (Celene Cleland Gomez) and 5 councilors (Bryon Bowman, Salvador Espat, Jose Alpuche, James Scott and Corrine Robinson Fuller) as well as the previous president.